High-Rise Inspection
1939 14 2018-1-30
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
BucklesTroy
lvl.1
Flight distance : 154964 ft
United States

Hello everyone! Is anyone here using a P4P for high rise inspections? My concern is that the wind load may be too much for this drone. Our firm is currently offering high rise inspections, but we haven't performed any yet. We have a P4P which has been great for SFR, Condos and low-rise buildings.

Second question. Which specifications of a UAS has the greatest impact on flight stability during wind? I suspect propeller size and aircraft weight will have the biggest impact, but maybe I'm missing something? I'm still very new to this, so any pointers would be great. Thank you all!

2018-1-30
Use props
Nigel_
Second Officer
Flight distance : 388642 ft
United Kingdom

The problem is not really wind, but turbulence, and especially updrafts.    If an updraft removes most of the aircraft's weight then it can't use much power to hold position.

In good conditions there will be no problems, but you can't see the turbulence and it is very difficult to predict so you do need to take safety precautions, keep a decent distance and always keep the aircraft in sight.

Heavier aircraft with faster propellers will do better since the updrafts will remove less of their weight, so definitely a Phantom rather than a Mavic, but heavier aircraft are also more dangerous if they fall!
2018-1-30
Use props
BigBlueTsunami
Second Officer
Flight distance : 503635 ft
  • >>>
United States

My question would be, how close to the high rise do you need to be? And are there any other nearby high rises? 20 MP photos are extremely high resolution images. Depending on what you’re trying to inspect you might be able to get enough information from a series of images taken from a distance safe from the effects of the wind. Using Ground Station Pro, 3D Map Point of Interest would give you just that. In fact, that’s pretty much what it’s made for.

Jeff
2018-1-30