How to Correct Video Stutter
7579 11 2015-4-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
RonnieBeckett
lvl.2

United States

Im very new to this and working on learning.
Just testing the Inspire out above my home I noticed that I get some stutter in the video playback.
Can anyone point me in the right direction to avoid this in the future.

Video was shot in 4K@30 with auto settings.
Its a basic boring slow 360 above my home catching the clouds and sky.

*EDITED POST
Correct link... Sorry

2015-4-28
Use props
FictitiousPerso
lvl.4
Flight distance : 303356 ft
Italy

your homes a cruise ship ??
2015-4-28
Use props
jimhare
Second Officer
Flight distance : 239035 ft
Australia

Hi Ronnie,

There are a few follow up questions before we zero in on what you're asking.

First of all do you mean stuttering in the final playback (i.e. YouTube) or do you mean your computer isn't fast enough to play the 4k files, or do you mean you get stuttering in your live view while flying?

If you mean it stutters while editing but not the final master on YouTube, it means your computer (or hard drive) isn't fast enough to play 4K straight from the Inspire.  This is not unusual but as soon as you master and upload it to YouTube it should play smoothly.

If you mean the video plays smoothly but you notice stutters during movement, it means your framerate isn't high enough.  Many people prefer the look of 60FPS because it's perfectly smooth.   Personally I HATE IT because it looks like a bad iPhone video and I much prefer the more cinematic look of 24FPS.   The side effect of a lower frame rate is slight stuttering in quick movement.   There are actually rules for camera work that dictate how quickly you should pan or move to avoid this.

If you mean your live view on your phone/tablet stutters then this isn't a big surprise.   The live view is great but doesn't always play smoothly (though it's pretty damn good for what it's trying to do.)