Mavic Air crippled modes. Why?
4686 39 2018-2-7
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
ggeorgis
lvl.4
Greece

Hi, longtime lurker almost ready to buy my first drone.
I have been contemplating on finally biting the bullet and purchasing the Mavic Air. The price is OK, video specs are OK but unfortunately every other aspect is compromised not only in hardware but in software as well.
Hardware compromises are USB charging, No portrait mode, no low noise propellers or FOC ESC's etc probably in order to reach the lower price point required.
BUT flight modes are compromised as well.
No Course Lock ..... for me as a total noobie is a huge disadvantage....Almost every toy drone has a headless mode....And this doesn't!!!
No Home lock....same as before.
No Follow me .... this is also huge since this is supposed to be a beginners selfie drone....and active track is not as reliable.
Cannot fly it without remote as you can do with the Spark......WHY? Isn't portability one of its biggest advantages. I thought I could take it with me and use hand gestures to take basic shots ..... But noooo this is not possible....
And Quickshots although boomerang and asteroid was introduced I think that has some other shots dropped ....
I cannot comment on other features missing such as terrain follow...since I expect that the MA will do that while in active track....

Are there any plans on introducing them via firmware or things will remain as they are.....If the latter is the case I am not sure whether finally 2018 will be the year to get my first drone....
2018-2-7
Use props
lovec1990
lvl.2
Flight distance : 36158 ft
Slovenia

You could wait for Mavic PRO 2 it will have more features
2018-2-7
Use props
ggeorgis
lvl.4
Greece