What happens when drone loses signal from controller?
12420 9 2018-2-14
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
RucksackTex
lvl.1
United States

I'm a newb. I would prefer NOT to lose my Spark so I'm proceeding tentatively and slowly, trying not to stray outside my comfort zone much with each flight.

I've seen videos where people -- apparently on purpose -- fly their drone off in a direction and keep going until the connection between the controller (or phone) and the Spark is lost. But nobody shows what happens next.

So what happens next? If my spark loses its connection to my controller, what happens? What should I do?

Thanks in advance.

Will
2018-2-14
Use props
DJT_MVSP
lvl.4
Flight distance : 2018645 ft
Singapore

It will climb to the RTH height you've set and fly in a straight line towards the HomePoint before finally landing. You can interrupt the RTH anytime by pressing the RTH button once..
2018-2-14
Use props
RucksackTex
lvl.1
United States

DJT_MVSP Posted at 2018-2-14 08:22
It will climb to the RTH height you've set and fly in a straight line towards the HomePoint before finally landing. You can interrupt the RTH anytime by pressing the RTH button once..

Wow, thanks for super quick reply. This clarifies things a lot. I've read about this but it had not quite clicked yet.

Perhaps my problem is that I don't yet fully know how to set the home point. In the short flights I've done so far, I get an alert from the app at the start of my flight that the "home point has been set" (or whatever it says). Sounds encouraging. But when I tap the RTH button on the DJI Go app, sometimes the Spark comes back to the point where it took off -- and sometimes it lands wherever it is at that moment. I'm worried that if I start to fly further, and something goes wrong, it could land where I wouldn't be able to find it....

Will
2018-2-14
Use props
hallmark007
Captain
Flight distance : 9827923 ft
  • >>>
Ireland

RucksackTex Posted at 2018-2-14 08:28