Preventing flyaway? (no issues just curious after having used RTH)
939 3 2018-2-26
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
DeFuanz
lvl.2
United States

So Earlier this morning i was flying the DJI Spark that i just recently bought and i gotta say, i think the sphere panorama shot is absolutley amazing. So I decided to take the drone over the lake a little bit and have the panorama take the shot. Halfway through the shooting my phone crashes due to apple screwing me over the years and a temperature of about 40 F . i had visual of the drone however, it was probably about 250m out so it was a dot. Iv'e read a few stories about fly aways so i am a very cautious pilot when i do fly. I calibrate every flight and make sure i always see the drone, My only fear was that it would try to autoland and go into the lake. I had never had to use return to home before but i always set it where theres no metal around and open space. I pressed the button and heard the beeping and shortly after saw my drone speeding in at 100 ft or so and land only about a meter off max of where it took off. everything worked great, Im just more or less curious what does cause fly aways and if there are any other steps to prevent them? Thanks
2018-2-26
Use props
Linny&HerSpark
Second Officer
Flight distance : 20830 ft
United States

Yes! The sphere panorama is great, isn't it?

While some of the flyaways I've read of seem to be caused by a hardware issue, others have been pilot issues.