OSMO Mobile 1 gimbal calibration issue
2453 9 2018-3-12
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
djiuser_Xl1zzwJlgppc
New
United States

Hello,
I've been using the OSMO Mobile 1 for 3 months now, and just recently found my horizon setting is off by about 2 degrees.
Very noticeable on the horizon line. I run the Auto Calibration, it says it's OK, but it's not perfectly level as before. Phone is Samsung S7, no problem to balance it.

I have to run the "Calibrate Horizon" and set it to +2.0 to have a level horizon line. I didn't need this setting previously!
Any thoughts about why this just happened? Is it normal or not to need to add in this correction, even though the Auto Calibration passes?
Thanks, Jerry
2018-3-12
Use props
Montfrooij
Captain
Flight distance : 2560453 ft
  • >>>
Netherlands

Are you sure it is 100% balanced?
(when the Osmo Mobile (OM) is OFF and you move the OM a bit it still remains level?)

I have only calibrated it once (on arrival) and never needed to do this again.
2018-3-13
Use props
djiuser_Xl1zzwJlgppc
New
United States

Montfrooij Posted at 2018-3-13 01:23
Are you sure it is 100% balanced?
(when the Osmo Mobile (OM) is OFF and you move the OM a bit it still remains level?)

Thanks Montfrooij,
Yes, it is 100% mechanically balanced, I've always been sure to set that accurately.
I've run the Auto Cal in the past, and it was obvious that the horizon line was level.
For example, at the beach, and ocean, that line was perfectly flat, especially viewed on my PC.

In the last week or so, I've noticed that slight tilt, and now I have to set the "Calibrate Horizon" setting to +2.0.   And then it works fine, horizon remains flat!   I've always been careful with the gimbal, it doesn't get thrown around or beat up.  Just curious if this has happened to others, or if it is a problem.
Jerry
2018-3-13
Use props
Montfrooij
Captain
  • >>>
Netherlands

djiuser_Xl1zzwJlgppc Posted at 2018-3-13 03:43
Thanks Montfrooij,