Question regarding Visual Line of Sight
2084 12 2018-3-26
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Captain Mal
lvl.4
Flight distance : 337890 ft
United States

Still a newbie here. I keep seeing the term Visual Line of Sight mentioned here, and that you should not fly outside of that. I'm not disagreeing with it at all, but maybe my understanding of exactly what that means is wrong. To me, VLOS means always being able to actually see your drone. If that's the case, I can't see ever letting the drone get very far away since they're so small you would lose sight of it pretty quickly.

Is my understanding of that term wrong? Does it mean that you should just have a clear line of sight to where your drone is even though it may be too far away to see without a pair of binoculars? Something like flying straight out over water with no visual obstructions like trees or buildings?
2018-3-26
Use props
Wachtberger
Captain
Flight distance : 261509 ft
Germany

Your first interpretation is the correct one and the legal obligation in most countries. You have to be able to see it with your eyes.
The second definition you gave is the technical requirement for a stable connection between RC and AC.
2018-3-26
Use props
integer
First Officer
Flight distance : 113355784 ft
Greece

which aircraft you have?
2018-3-26
Use props
Phantomflyer
lvl.3
Flight distance : 1016486 ft

Being able to actually see your drone,  without the use of other visual aids, binoculars etc.. If you can no longer see the model in flight, it's simply beyond your VLOS.
2018-3-26
Use props
eYeSkYeYe
First Officer

Croatia

When it comes to legal stuff, my vision suddenly improves and my eye resolution switches to 0.0000001 arc seconds.
2018-3-26
Use props
Captain Mal
lvl.4
Flight distance : 337890 ft
United States

Thanks for the quick answers. I thought that was the case, but with so many people flying so far away they can't possibly see it, I wasn't 100% sure.