Mavic Pro 2 for first drone ...should I wait ???
4984 5 2018-3-26
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
cormad
lvl.2
Flight distance : 4698 ft
Canada

Hey All;

Looking for a bit of advice, I know there a lot of discussion about upgrading to the new Mavic Pro 2 when it is released. As I have never owned or flew a drone I was wondering as a firsth time owner if I should wait until it is released ? Or purchase the Mavic Pro / Air at a lower price point ?

The end goal is maybe a small business on the side doing multiple things with a drone. One option is Thermography as I am an energy manager. I know that is about a 10K output of cash, hence I want to try a lower cost drone to start.

Jeff in Ontario.

2018-3-26
Use props
AG0N-Gary
First Officer
Flight distance : 700846 ft

You've got a few things to combine here, according to your comments.
You need to learn to fly, and you want to start a business.  Learning to fly takes time.  Sure, you can pull it out of the box and fly it around with no experience, and likely land again.  But, you need to learn to fly it and be able to handle any curves that are thrown at you.  Think about your child learning to drive.  They can get down the block, but what happens when the unexpected comes along?  You need to do a lot of flying to get competent and able to handle things on the fly without getting lost trying to figure out how.  That's the first challenge.