Flying off the edge of a cliff
7294 14 2018-3-29
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Zuhlster
lvl.2
Flight distance : 334662 ft
United States

Is it just me, or does the mere thought of flying your drone over the edge of a cliff give you the heebee jeebees?  And does the actual action increase that uncomfortable feeling?

Yes I am a newbie.  Have some trips coming up where I will be in very scenic areas that will include cliffs and mountains etc.    My first thought is be aware of the wind, if too windy then I will not fly over a cliff.  Anything else I should be wary of in the process (aside from air restrictions)?
2018-3-29
Use props
Simmo1
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1624 ft
Australia

That your homepoint has been set. *Please check it on the map". Whilst you are checking, ensure that the direction of the little AC icon is physically the same as the actual AC in front of you.
2018-3-29
Use props
QuadKid
First Officer
Flight distance : 482349 ft
United States

Simmo1 Posted at 2018-3-29 14:26
That your homepoint has been set. *Please check it on the map". Whilst you are checking, ensure that the direction of the little AC icon is physically the same as the actual AC in front of you.

The drone really doesn't care what is under it, your altitude will show a - (negative) number when you fly lower than your recorded home point. One of the most important things to observe is a possible Thermal or wind driven updraft from the face of the cliff, (even if the winds are calm) be prepared for that while flying. Other than that, make sure all your settings are correct and take the plunge.
2018-3-29
Use props
Bekaru MP UAV
First Officer
Flight distance : 15513100 ft
South Africa