2830 8 2018-4-29
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
METROID
lvl.3
Flight distance : 105741 ft
Russia

Hello everyone!
I'm a noob at flying drones, and I have a few questions.
Today I tried to fly my Mavic Air outdoors with props guards on (cuz it is recommended for noobs like me), and there was a little wind on the ground like 2-4 m/s, and when I manually took off the message poped-up "Extra payload detected. Flight performance will be affected. Fly with caution." All sensors were is green zone, there were 14 sats of GPS. Is it possible that while take off the gust of wind hit the Mavic and it thought of extra payload?
Then I gained altitude about 60 meters and the yellow message appeared "High wind velocity. Ensure the aircraft remains within your line of sight and fly with caution." I've ignored that message cuz I already expected some wind up there. And after that on 62 meters I received a red alert "High wind velocity. Fly with caution and land in a safe place ASAP." I don't think that there really was such a strong wind, also drone was very stable for me, but I hit RTH button and returned drone back to me. And only at home I realized that props guards can be the case, maybe they drastically added a wind affection to my drone, cuz wind was not that strong, the trees were stable, UAV Forecast showed wind 2m/s with gusts up to 4 m/s, no?
2018-4-29
Use props
Cetacean
Captain
Flight distance : 2528264 ft
  • >>>
United States

Aloha METROID,

Yes, the propguards will create an extra payload message.  It is advisory, not compulsory.  Do pay attention to it though.  The Mavic Air is very small and will be affected by wind much more than the larger Mavic Pro and the much larger Phantoms.