Flying inside a large warehouse? Dangerous?
1869 21 2018-5-18
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
James3342
lvl.3
United States

I do video for a car dealership and sometimes due to rain I have to do my work inside a very large warehouse - ceilings are 30 feet high and it's pretty open. I'm pretty new to the drone world and the Mavic Air is my first one. Is it possible to safely fly this thing in the warehouse? I never need to it to get above 12-15 feet and it would always be within 50 feet of me and in tripod mode 99% of the time. All this talk of GPS, ATTI mode, RTH nightmares, etc make me very hesitant to do this. If the drone will just stay in tripod mode and follow my inputs, I know I'd be fine. It's if it decides to freak out that scares me.

I do have the Refresh from DJI. I'm just trying to understand how the drone behaves based on the environment it's in. I exclusively use tripod mode when filming or photographing and keep it less than 40-50 feet from the controller at all times, in perfect line of sight. As long as the drone doesn't decide to RTH and take over control from me, it seems it'd be pretty safe....  

Would like to hear from DJI on this too.

Appreciate any advice!
Thanks
James

2018-5-18
Use props
ambassador1
lvl.3
United States

Sounds totally fine for that large of a space. If you are feeling nervous about it, to a test run when nobody is around. People fly in much smaller rooms without issue.
2018-5-18
Use props
STRIDE8
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1382431 ft
United States

I flew my Mavic Pro inside a convention center and it went well.  Tripod Mode is good.  Just stay away from objects
2018-5-18
Use props
Ex Machina
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1806362 ft
United States