Getting 3rd Party Apps on the Phantom 4 Pro+ GL300E Controller
4691 11 2018-5-30
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Texas_Flyer
lvl.1

United States

Hello all!

I'm currently working on using the Phantom 4 Pro+ for some ecosystem mapping, however it seems that this controller does not allow 3rd party apps to be installed which would make setting up transecs and collecting data a much more effecient process than manually taking pictures as it flies along way-points.

Am I missing something? Or is there really no way to get the Play Store App on the device so that I can download something akin to Drone Deploy and what not?

I'm looking forward to any advice y'all can give me on how I can tackle preflight planning with the drone. I'm pretty new to using it in general.

Thanks!
2018-5-30
Use props
Markon
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1296585 ft
Australia

Unfortunately my understanding is that you cannot install 3rd party apps on the + controller.

My drone is a Phantom 4 Pro+ and once I got the hang of flying it, I wanted to run some apps to map fields (paddocks). When I purchased the drone from the retailer, I asked if I could run third party apps, and the salesperson assured me I could. I was extremely disappointed when I found this was not the case.

I don't blame DJI for this, just the retailer and me being a newbie with DJI gear.

After looking into it, the only practical solution for me was buy a second controller and a iPad Mini 4. In my case I also upgraded the new controller with a Itelite Shockwave Duo Range Booster making it much more practical for me on the farm, so all ends well. With the new upgraded controller, I have the ability now to fly over all of the farm taking off from my house. All I want now is for DJI to make even better flight batteries for even more range/flight time.