Fly Aways?
681 22 2018-6-1
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Ken Storm
lvl.4
Flight distance : 178583 ft
United Kingdom

Just started fly my Air and naturally I keep reading the forum and oft see issues with fly aways.

Whatever the cause, I would have thought it possible to Geo-Fence the drone, setting a max distance from home before it stops and either returns of hovers.
Assuming of course your GPS had a solid fix at home and still has at the fence.

2018-6-1
Use props
Folkestone
Second Officer
Flight distance : 843199 ft
United Kingdom

Aren't most of them caused by GPS or compass errors which would break that system?

It's a nice idea and I am no expert on how these things work but I'd love the security that a system like this would offer.
2018-6-1
Use props
HereForTheBeer
Second Officer
Flight distance : 5381368 ft
  • >>>
United States

Fly always usually occur because of a system failure or lack of system readiness. So I’m not sure a geo-fence is best idea.. you already can set a max flight distance in settings, however this won’t prevent a fly away.. as fly always occur when the normal system in place fail..

Usually during a fly away event the drone switches to failsafe ATTI mode. And ATTI mode is very difficult to control if you are not expecting it or even impossible to fly if the drone is completely confused and has no references (all systems have high bias and thus bad zeroing)

The best bet if your drone failsafes into ATTi mode is to lower your drone under you get VPS/Opti mode (down firing vision positioning system) because at that point the drone will have some references and will be far more controllable.   VPS/Opti mode range is around 31 feet from the ground, but sometimes it can need to be a bit closer.  at that point you can safely auto land the drone or manually fly it back at that height or wait for errors to clear up (sometimes they will on their own)