Is the P3 Wedding Video Encouraging "Illegal" Activity?
3178 25 2015-5-14
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
lpoland
lvl.1

United States

Honest Question:

Isn't the operation of any drone for commercial gain... illegal? (at least according to FAA)

As a filmmaker I absolutly LOVE what DJI is doing. But are the tools they make essentially illegal for us to use commercially?

Afterall even the Phantom 3 has a "Pro" version. This implies commercial use. Only a handful of licensed pilots in the U.S can legally charge to operate a Phantom for hire.

Thoughts?

LP
2015-5-14
Use props
Rothgarr
lvl.2
Flight distance : 470663 ft
United States

Maybe the Phantom footage is a "free" bonus incentive to go along with the "whole photography package".

That video is really dumb if you ask me. Because nobody wants this during their wedding:
2015-5-14
Use props
col.lloyd
lvl.3
Flight distance : 286637 ft
United Kingdom

Haha, thanks Rothgarr, that made me chuckle.
2015-5-14
Use props
Cacc
lvl.3

Canada

Flying a drone for commercial reasons indoors is not against the law by any means. Flying over government-controlled areas is where the issues come in; that includes parks, streets, airspace, etc.
2015-5-14
Use props
lpoland
lvl.1

United States

Cacc Posted at 2015-5-14 21:41
Flying a drone for commercial reasons indoors is not against the law by any means. Flying over gover ...

As far as I understand FAA regs. Any operation of a drone for hire without FAA permission is illegal - indoors or out.

I think the fact that DJI is producing such a robust aerial photography platform will increase pressure on this issue (in a good way). But for now essentially the PRO version of the phantom is a product without a legal operating environment.
2015-5-14
Use props
lpoland
lvl.1

United States

Rothgarr Posted at 2015-5-14 20:21
Maybe the Phantom footage is a "free" bonus incentive to go along with the "whole photography packag ...