RTH Failure - Please help me understand
2146 34 2018-6-3
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
cristiopr3a
lvl.1
Flight distance : 2047 ft

Romania

Hi there. Borrowed a Phantom 3 from a friend on Friday to do some aerail shots of a mountain cabin. Aprox altitude 1700 m ASL. Once I got it up in the air I noticed some movement from the wind but nothing very serious untill it started flying away from me despite me trying to bring it back. Fearing a crash I kept it up in the air and tried to use RTH when I could not see it clearly anymore. The drone kept going away and I lost it in the woods. I attach the final two logs and I would appreciate an analysis of the data to help me avoid the same mistake in the future.

http://www.phantomhelp.com/LogViewer/L5N5IZVRHHHVHOFI2E49/#
http://www.phantomhelp.com/LogViewer/9AY7636S4LSW5SRJQIFB/

Thank you

Cristian
2018-6-3
Use props
Texas-Mark
lvl.4
Flight distance : 23002 ft
United States

I'm no expert on reading the logs, but it looks like RTH was active, but the wind was too strong and it was continuing to move away.
2018-6-3
Use props
Mark The Droner
First Officer
Flight distance : 2917 ft
United States

I'll put in my two cents and I'm sure others will too...

Sorry but it looks to me like you made quite a few rookie mistakes on this flight.

1)  You should always launch with a fully charged battery.   81% isn't good enough.  If you choose to launch with 81%, you accept the risk of a battery malfunction.

2)  You initially flew below the tree line out of line of sight of your controller which caused the first loss of signal and the first RTH.  

3)  You should have released the sticks when you lost the connection, but apparently didn't.  The AC appears to have regained the signal for enough time to sense stick movement and therefore cancelled the RTH ascent and began flying straight home at negative altitude, which is extremely dangerous.