Traveling to US and Canada with Mavic Air
3268 20 2018-6-4
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Franki
lvl.1

Hong Kong

Hi there,

I am totally new to drone flying. I shall be going on a 2.5 month motorcycle trip from Reno to Alaska (Dead Horse?) in 2 weeks. This is on my bucket list so I thought to myself that I should bring back some good memories by taking some video with a drone. Hence, the Mavic Air I just purchased. Now I am told that many countries have restriction on bring in and operating a drone in their countries. I have googled this and found confusing information. All I need to know is:

1. Can I bring my Mavic Air into USA and Canada as a non US citizen.
2. Can I operate this drone in USA and Canada just to take some travel video (observing the No-Fly-Zone limites).

Any advise or point to the right directions will be much appreciated.

Safe flying,

Franki

2018-6-4
Use props
DJI Wanda
Administrator

Good day! Please be advice that we are currently confirming this information from our management. Please wait for the answer. Thank you for your patience.
2018-6-4
Use props
SparksBird
Second Officer
Flight distance : 10731690 ft
United States

Sounds like it will be a very fun road trip.  I live in Reno/Sparks and fly my drone quite often.  Just stay away from the NFZ typically the airports and you are good.  Download UAV Forecast as this will show you the NFZ map so you can plan ahead.   Make sure that your batteries are drained to 30% before traveling with.  Other than that not sure what else am sure others will chime in.
2018-6-4
Use props
davidmartingraf
First Officer
Flight distance : 106566408 ft
  • >>>

You'll need to register if you want to fly with the FAA once you get to the U.S. https://faadronezone.faa.gov/#/
2018-6-4
Use props
Franki
lvl.1

Hong Kong

DJI Wanda Posted at 2018-6-4 06:56