Mavic Air: is there a way to get 120 fps footage to tag as 24 fps instead of 30?
2426 11 2018-6-25
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Grapejuice Pix
lvl.2
United States

I absolutely love that it tags the 120 fps footage as 30 fps so I can see it in slow motion without having to do anything to it.

Having said that, I shoot in 24fps. I’m a filmmaker, I got the Mavic to be able to add drone shots to my films, and I also just think 24 looks better than 30.

Obviously when I drop the 120/30 fps footage into a 24 fps sequence I just have to render it and it’s fine. But I have an old computer and the less rendering I have to do the better.

So is there a way? Thanks!
2018-6-25
Use props
A CW
Captain
Flight distance : 14177772 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

Not that I'm aware of but would be good to know.
2018-6-25
Use props
TexasAerials
Second Officer
Flight distance : 566952 ft

shoot at 96fps?  it would give you the same 4/1 slowdown ability and you wouldn't have to use optical flow to interpret the out-of-time frames.  
2018-6-25
Use props
TexasAerials
Second Officer

Just remembered that another youtuber posted a video about how to make the spark 30fps video work better in a 24fps timeline.  He suggested that you could drop your 30fps video into the timeline and set it to play at 80% of original speed, which would make the 30fps line up with the 24fps timeline, while giving the video a bit more of a cinematic quality.  
2018-6-25
Use props
Grapejuice Pix
lvl.2
United States

TexasAerials Posted at 2018-6-25 11:00
Just remembered that another youtuber posted a video about how to make the spark 30fps video work better in a 24fps timeline.  He suggested that you could drop your 30fps video into the timeline and set it to play at 80% of original speed, which would make the 30fps line up with the 24fps timeline, while giving the video a bit more of a cinematic quality.