Inspire 2 flip over at motor start
896 12 2018-7-16
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
McDroney
lvl.1
Flight distance : 501650 ft

Hey guys,
apologies if this has been discussed before.

I'm a fairly experienced professional pilot in the UK. Been flying the s900 for a few years before switching to the Inspire 2 a couple of years ago. The Inspire2 is a very impressive UAV, it, and the s900, are the few aerial platforms I could actually start to *rely* on - always fire up, always launch and fly safely (provided the firmware was up to date on the Inspire!).

However yesterday I was filming in multiple locations (x5s camera gimble). Some in open uncontrolled airspace and some inside Category D airspace (with permission from the ATC of course). After multiple flights both in and out of CatD space, we moved location again returning to Cat D airspace. When I fired the motors up (both sticks down and to the centre) the motors began to spin and idling speed, at this point the DJI cautionary message appeared on the DJIGO4 app which prompted me to remember I had not posted a NOTAM for this particular location, so within a second or so of returning the controller sticks to their centre spot, I pulled the sticks down to the kill position (again both sticks down and to the centre - perhaps this was the mistake?).....the drone immediately powered up the rear props, causing it to pitch up onto it's nose, spin a little and bodily accelerate (as if the throttle stick had been pushed up for more power), it maybe got about 20cm into the air (still nose pointed vertically downward). Approximately 3 or 4 seconds later, with my fingers remaining in the kill position, the props stopped turning, leaving the drone to fall onto its top surface (upside down).