When to stop using propeller guards?
2471 16 2018-7-25
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Her-man2
lvl.2
Flight distance : 151191 ft

Hi All,

Reading all the horrible crash stories posted to this thread, as a newbie, I still keep flying with the propeller guards. I am just wondering when to stop using them. It's all about having faith in your own flying skills.

Using the propeller guards won't help if the Mavic Air drops dead out of the air, but do provide protection for other kinds of mishap.

Looking forward to your input!
Herman

2018-7-25
Use props
LookAt_Wictim
lvl.4
Flight distance : 2621982 ft
Slovakia

Used once indoor but never used it for outdoor flying. Mavic with prop guards is unstable in wind better without it
2018-7-25
Use props
alpbird
lvl.3
Flight distance : 779281 ft
Turkey

I have used the prop guards only once in an open area after I bought my MA. If you are in P-Mode, it works nicely. I have also tried flying in sport mode and experienced that I received a warning or rather, sort of an information saying that there was an overload. When in sport mode with the guards, the speed is much lower. When I took apart the guards and switched to S mode, it was flying unbelievably fast.

As to when you need to get rid of the guards, it depends on your competence. Are you able to perform a figure 8 flying forwards and backwards? If so, my personal opinon is that it is high time you took off without them.

Cheers
2018-7-25
Use props
InvisibleName 7
Second Officer
Flight distance : 795653 ft
United States

You're absolutely correct, only your own faith in your flying skills will tell you when to take the guards off.  Personally, I stopped using them after about 5 hours of flying, but I would consider fitting them if I was flying in a restricted space such as a forest.
2018-7-25
Use props
nixuspix
Second Officer
Flight distance : 2864974 ft
  • >>>
Latvia