Replacement props
2775 6 2014-11-3
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
shep941
lvl.2

United States

I chipped a prop and want to buy some extras. Does anyone know the difference in the "Thrust Boost" props? Or has anyone found aftermarket props that are better? Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
2014-11-3
Use props
rod
Second Officer

New Zealand

I would stick with the DJI props. They are pretty well balanced straight from the packet. I have heard of carbon fibre props causing scary descents and even dropping out of the sky completely. This is apparently because they do not flex at all, whereas the DJI ones are designed to flex a bit on descents, almost like a flexi shock absorber. (no experience here, just reporting what I have researched.)
Rod
2014-11-3
Use props
LenCO
New

United States

I live In Colorado at 7800' MSL.   I have a P2 with H3-3D & FPV setup with both factory original and DJI9450 prop sets.   I've been flying real airplanes and models for many decades.

The 9450's are preferred by locals for loaded up use at high altitude.  With either prop set I return to home point after 10 minutes of timed flight and end up with 35 to 45% fuel remaining with 60mw of battery drain feeding a low power ultralight FPV transmitter, plus powering a 3d gimbal and a GoPro.   The 9450 props are a bit more quiet.  The 9450's have subtle changes in prop pitch, camber, and leading edge thickness, and the center of lift is moved slightly outboard on the 9450's.  Control response is similar.  I have not done endurance tests, but most Colorado owners suggest about a minute of extended flight time to the first low battery warning.