922 7 2018-8-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
georgieB
lvl.4
Flight distance : 33212 ft
Philippines

Hi,

Pulled the trigger and bought the flaming red fmc.  I graduated from a SYMA (altitude hold), to a Hubsan 501SS and now this mavic air.  I love it so far and just getting used to using a smartphone as the video food since both of my previous drones had a dedicated controller.  Just learning the ropes and want to avoid losing or damaging this $1000 drone.  Regarding APAS, can this be activated upon take off and kept on until RTH or when battery runs out?

Located in the Philippines and either the sun is out full blast or we get rain clouds and gloomy.  Asking advise on the use of ND filters and recommended brand and the ND filter number ND8/16 and others that would be suitable for our climate here.

Thank you for all the advises
2018-8-28
Use props
Optimus_Prime
Second Officer
Flight distance : 568704 ft
Vietnam

APAS can be used in any sittuations, but important thing are: wait for at least 10 GPS satellite, homepoint update, try to  flight in sight and aware of surroundings.
For ND filter, i have PolarPro and Freewell for ND/PL and ND only. I rarely use ND/PL as it must be adjusted to get best result. Have safe flights
2018-8-28
Use props
georgieB
lvl.4
Philippines

Optimus_Prime Posted at 2018-8-28 21:05
APAS can be used in any sittuations, but important thing are: wait for at least 10 GPS satellite, homepoint update, try to  flight in sight and aware of surroundings.
For ND filter, i have PolarPro and Freewell for ND/PL and ND only. I rarely use ND/PL as it must be adjusted to get best result. Have safe flights

thank you for your response
2018-9-11
Use props
LordoftheFlies
lvl.3

Get that GPS signal and fly on w/ APAS.
2018-9-11
Use props
davidmartingraf
First Officer
Flight distance : 106566408 ft
  • >>>

I think you made a fine choice and should be quite interesting testing the APAS system as you state.
2018-9-11
Use props
HenryHM
lvl.4