Flight distance : 623366 ft
United States

I few one test mission.

Details:

• images in jpeg
  • used interval mode to take photos every 2 seconds
  • AGL about 110 feet
  • processed in photoscan, with rolling shutter fix enabled
  • manually flew, and did a poor job of coverage (none of the mapping apps support the bird as of yet)

Since the GPS altitude is wrong, I added a step to use the relative altitude.

No GCPs.

Results:

• photoscan calculated the "Total Error" in the "Camera" pane as 1.9 meters. As I understand things, that means the GPS coordinates among the images are relatively consistant. More consistant than my P4P missions, HOWEVER, flying via an app may induce a delay between the photo being tagged and the shutter actually exposing the sensor (more about this in a future post).
  • photoscan's "Calibration coefficients and correlation matrix" seems to suggest that the M2P's lens is slightly better than the P4P's. I'm not an expert, but most of errors are lower for the M2P.

The M2P could be my goto mapping drone. Smaller and quieter are a big deal. The battieries are also $50 cheaper!

Please encourge Map Pilot and GS Pro to implement support for the M2P!!!!

steve
2018-8-30
Use props
Adam9997
Second Officer
Flight distance : 2608901 ft
  • >>>
United States

I completely agree, been using MP with PIX4D and had very impressive results. With better camera and more stable flight, results will improve. Hopefully PIX4d will also deploy support for M2P
2018-8-30
Use props
nivong
lvl.3
Flight distance : 2267251 ft
  • >>>
Netherlands

It's not up to the developers to support it. It is up to DJI to enable support in their SDK for 3rd parties to use it...
2018-8-30
Use props
djiuser_6Q57jczySsAE
lvl.4
Flight distance : 623366 ft
United States

nivong Posted at 2018-8-30 05:03
It's not up to the developers to support it. It is up to DJI to enable support in their SDK for 3rd parties to use it...

Good point. Has DJI released the SDK for the M2P?
2018-8-30