Editing 4K Footage - Adobe PP - Please help!
4003 11 2018-8-31
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
travelswithlewi
lvl.4
Flight distance : 241109 ft
United Kingdom

Hey,

I just require some basic setup tips for editing 4K (H265) footage - I shot with the new Mavic Pro 2 yesterday evening in D-log 4K, and when I bring it into Premiere Pro to begin editing, as expected it is nigh-on impossible to work with (jittery, unresponsive etc.) I'm on a Macbook Pro that has handled a lot of edit workflows with ease in the past, and I always edit off my external, Thunderbolt 1TB HD for better results.

I'm assuming I need to convert the 4k, D-log files I've captured into something edit friendly? Could someone please point me in the right direction, as what to convert the files to & where I can do that. In the past I'd use MPEG Streamclip to convert the files into Apple Pro Res 422, and use the converted files to edit with, with no issues.

I'm new to editing with 4K, and have watched many tutorials on Youtube to help me get started, however no-one has mentioned converting the media to allow a smooth edit workflow.

Any advice would be hugely helpful!

Thanks,
Lewis
2018-8-31
Use props
Streetmagus
lvl.3
Flight distance : 1398376 ft

Your computer is too weak. There is no raw format from the drone. H.265 is a compressed format and likely the reason you’re having performance issues is because of the 100Mbps bitrate..
I would suggest using proxies to edit, rather than working with strictness 4K footage.
2018-8-31
Use props
HanSoloYang
lvl.3
United States