P4P V2 camera out of focus
668 9 2018-9-11
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
BobCowen
lvl.2
Flight distance : 491673 ft
United States

I've been using a P3P for 2 years and now have a P4P V2.  I'm shooting video at 1080p, 60 FPS and taking screen shots (VLC) for the photos.  Everything looks great on my P3 but (using the same settings on both Phantoms), the photos on the P4P V2 look out of focus.  Here is a link to some examples: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/m0900 ... 4WEfyk2agAkk8a?dl=0

The only adjustments that I make are to lighten and darken the images with the right wheel.

Is the camera defective or am I doing something wrong?  Thanks for any/all ideas
2018-9-11
Use props
Geebax
First Officer
Australia

I would use 30 pfs, 60 only makes it harder for the camera to encode the material and does not give you improved quality. Apart from that, your video clip is over-exposed, when using the right wheel, it is best to bring up the histogram display and use that as a guide to exposure. The histogram needs some reading to understand it, but it can make it a lot easier to expose. I don't think there is anything wrong with your camera.
2018-9-11
Use props
BobCowen
lvl.2
United States

Geebax:  Thank you for your reply.  Perhaps I was spoiled by the simplicity of the P3P and am unable to handle a much more capable camera.  I used 1080p, 60FPS on my P3P and got very good video and screen captures.  I expected to be able to do the same without becoming an industrial strength photographer.  I've never used the histogram nor over-exposure warnings during the 4+ years of work (P2 w/GoPro & P3P) and would hope that it's not necessary for the type of work I'm doing.
2018-9-11
Use props
Geebax
First Officer
Australia

BobCowen Posted at 2018-9-11 18:59