sneers at the park
1236 11 2018-9-25
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Seymour Clouds
lvl.3
United States

I'm new to the drone world (30ish flights) and one thing I didn't anticipate are all the looks I get from people like I'm doing something wrong.  I fly in several different parks (not state parks) that have no rules against drones (according to signs and web sites).  I'm respectful.  I look for spots away from people and I never chase or follow joggers or dog walkers.  There seems to be a general "teacher looking over her glasses" attitude towards the hobby that I never knew existed.  I'm just curious if anyone else is getting these sneers or if I just look especially scandelous?  
2018-9-25
Use props
STRIDE8
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1382431 ft
United States

Yes, you will get some of that and also the people who know all the rules of drone flying
2018-9-25
Use props
Ex Machina
First Officer
Flight distance : 1806362 ft
United States

There are plenty of stories of less than friendly encounters on the forum. I've only had one, a person who mentioned drones being used for spying on people, I showed her what that spying would look like on my phone and I think she was satisfied. Most folks are curious and think it's pretty cool.
2018-9-25
Use props
Maxi3D
Second Officer
Flight distance : 307621 ft
  • >>>
United States

Being discreet is the keyword nowadays. I fly in the mornings and evenings where there will be fewer people in the park. Don't fly in one place too long and that will draw people attention.
2018-9-25
Use props
thehippoz
Second Officer
Flight distance : 23 ft
United States

Yeah, just talk to them. I had a old guy drive around while flying once. I told him it's a present (for myself) and he left satisfied. Some people have nothing better to do, they just want to talk to somebody.

You can tell them to fly a kite too but don't expect it to end well.
2018-9-25
Use props
Seymour Clouds
lvl.3
United States