Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Ronin S + Nikon D850 HELP?
3301 3 2018-11-21
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
cdizzzle
lvl.1

Canada

Hello everyone!

I'm new to the DJI Ronin/Nikon world. I use to have the DJI OSMO (just for fun). Now I'm leaning towards doing video more "professionally" so I sold my OSMO and I'm planning on getting the Ronin S. I use a Nikon D850 and I've been researching compatibility and have been reading some (on Reddit) that Ronin S-Nikon D850 doesn't work well together, and then I found a thread that's a bit related to what I'm looking for here in the DJI forums but I need more information.

I rented a DJI Ronin S to play and test with my Nikon D850.

The firmware on the Ronin is 1.4.0.30, the firmware on my Nikon D850 is 1.02.

I was able to balance my camera with the Ronin but when I tried to use the connector usb, the live view on my Nikon turned off, and I couldn't turn live view on again (but camera is still on) - I think it went into PC mode... Is there a custom function that I need to set up so that I can make this to work? Do I need to update the Nikon D850 firmware too?

Looking forward to getting more info on this. Thank you!
2018-11-21
Use props
cdizzzle
lvl.1

Canada

Did a few more experiments and I've gotten my Nikon D850 to be connected to the Ronin-S via the mcc-b cable to allow for live view. I can also start/stop recording on the Ronin and can pull focus using the focus knob on the Ronin!  Ronin firmware 1.4.30, D850 firmware 1.02. After trying out a few things that I thought would make it work, what did it for me was to connect cable, turn on Ronin, turn on camera, then half press shutter button
2018-11-21
Use props
DJI Natalia
Administrator

cdizzzle Posted at 11-21 14:53