Quality issues blurry area RAW Photography
1967 13 2019-1-5
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
djiuser_f22l4WRdAM2n
lvl.2

Germany

Hello,

I have a problem with my new drone and would appreciate your opinion.

I bought a Mavic 2 Pro in a local shop in Hamburg/Germany and noticed a very blurry area on the right side of every photo that I took. I used RAW, an aperture of around 4.5 which seems to be as sharp as it gets, Iso 100 on a sunny day, a short enough shutter time and Capture One 12 as Raw Converter. The lens was clean. I am a professional photographer and knew directly that something is probably not ok with the camera.

I returned the Mavic 2 and got a new one from the shop.

Unfortunately the new Mavic has more or less exactly the same problem.

You can find a link to some sample images here: Sample images[size=14.000000953674316px]

This time I sent the Mavic to the official German repair center in Niederlauer and they strangely did not find any problem at all and want to send the drone back next week as it is.
I called one of the technicians yesterday and he said that the images are all very sharp and he can´t see any problem. I should buy an Inspire 2 if I want better image quality. When I told him that I am very happy with the overall image quality of the small sensor and only can´t live with blurry parts on one side, he replied that there are certain tolerances in the production and this is normal. I was irritated that such a big tolerance seems to be normal. The technician wants to send the images to the development team in China now and they should decide if I get a repaired drone or not.

I am pretty frustrated because I thought they could simply send me a repaired drone or new one because there is obviously a problem with the camera from the beginning on. For me it is clearly a warranty case and they should have to fix the problem.