Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
On the road with OP and OA (updated)
1234Next >
11794 123 2019-1-10
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Wiz33
lvl.4
Flight distance : 35994 ft
  • >>>
United States

Disclaimer. I'm totally new to gimbal camera of any sort. My current camera is a Panasonic Lumix FZ1000 with OIS and 4K@30 and I was considering getting a gimbal for that when I caught the announcement for the Osmo Pocket. I got the OP just in time for my trip on Dec 13th and I just returned home after spending almost a month in Asia.

I watch a bunch of reviews on Youtube but a lot of them was from the POV of a Vlogger. My perspective for this review is more from a casual traveler's POV.

The biggest advantage of the OP compared to a traditional digital camera is the size/weight, aperture and boot time.

Lets talk about size/weight. It's smaller and half the weight of a compact DC. I carry it in my jacket's pocket and I don't even feel it was there most of the time. The small size/weight also means that you can shoot in crowded area just by holding it up above your head. Like the time that I walk into a subway station only to find a bunch of kids performing Xmas carols. There are already a gathered crowd but I was ablo to just hold the OP above my head and shoot pass all the people in front of me. good luck doing that with a mid size DC. The small size also means that most people don't even know that you're shooting (was able to use it in a few places that does not allow camera without being notice). It also avoid a lot of stares that you see in a lot of vids while using a gimbal setup. The only drawback is the lack of a zoom (even digital would be nice). The few times that I want a closer view, I just use my phone, set it to 2x and shot the vids. At the end of the day, although I brought my FZ1000 on the trip. it ended up just staying in the hotel rooms for the whole trip.