Motor Noise - Normal?
9325 13 2019-1-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Billitteri
lvl.1
United States

I've read a few threads on this topic, but I feel like I never landed on complete confirmation that my situation was the same as others'.

I currently own a Ronin S, Crane 2, and Moza Air 2 (because of extended return periods at B&H). The Crane 2 and the Moza Air 2 are essentially silent when stationary or moving slowly. I can hear them occasionally if I'm moving quickly, but otherwise, I can't hear them at all without putting my ear up against the motors.
The Ronin S, however, makes enough noise to hear from probably 3 feet away in a quiet room. That's not an issue for anything filmed with external audio or no audio, but if I have a mic on the gimbal, it'll pick up the motor noise.

I've pretty much decided against the Crane 2 at this point, despite the lighter weight and great case. I'm having trouble getting the Moza Air 2 to work the way I want (lots of shaking and odd behavior that I just can't fix. Too many detailed settings, no factory reset, and it seems like the auto-balance doesn't select ideal settings). So I'm leaning toward keeping the Ronin S, but the noise is bothering me, and if I can get the Moza Air 2 to behave, it's a very close battle for me.

Should the Ronin S make noise at rest, when perfectly balanced and confirmed in the app, and sitting stationary on a table? Or should it be essentially silent like the Crane 2 and Moza Air 2?

Thanks everyone!
2019-1-15
Use props
DJI Mindy
Administrator
Flight distance : 7 ft
  • >>>

Hi Billitteri, sorry for the trouble caused, may I verify the following info?
1. Did you get all the lock knobs tightened?
2. Did you try the Auto Tune?
3. Is the camera lens mounted properly?