The real meaning of MAVIC
11852 21 2019-1-26
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Grey Hawk
lvl.2
Flight distance : 1259288 ft
Malaysia

Hi.. my very first post after four years of waiting to buy my Mavic Pro... My Mavic is registered as the MQ-X Greyhawk and I am registered as Greyhawk in the GO4 application. Only in the forum I have a space. I've been longing for a DJI drone since December 2016.. and the release of Mavic Pro makes me itching even more to get it.. and it is worth it. Really a great drone. Now, let me get to the point. No, my drone is unarmed.

In my humble opinion, Mavic is not a word, nor a misspell of Maverick.. or whatever accent that word is. Or from any language. No, it doesn't matter. I have been figuring out the meaning of this Mavic for a while now, since 2018... and I believe that I am correct to say that Mavic is an acronym, not a word. But well, the mystery is, how it can be an acronym..? Or is it just a nice name of no meaning from any language in existence? I have a few theories that I believe can give us some good standing point to say why it is in acronym. Here are why, as follows:

• In the instruction manual, it is written as MAVIC, not Mavic. Specifically for any other DJI drones, not DJI products in general such as Ronin and Osmo, also the NAZA flight controller and its latest NAZA N3, I believe it does has a meaning but I can't be very sure. Again, a good point to mention. Add to that, all other DJI drone models use an actual word with meaning, such as the Spark, Phantom, Inspire and Tello, which has a meaning. For example, Tello means tellus or land or earth.