If you could only carry a couple of ND filters, which ones?
713 13 2019-2-5
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Onsomehill
lvl.2
United States

Hello

Im a NOVICE!!! Got an OP for a hike. Researching ND filters, and uses, and wondering what filters, if you could only carry a couple, would be suggested for the widest range. Or is this impossible to answer? Filters weigh nothing but all the cases are what Im trying to avoid.

2019-2-5
Use props
Wiz33
lvl.4
Flight distance : 35994 ft
  • >>>
United States

I just carry the Pgytech 4 ND PL set (8,16,32,64)/ The case is compact enough to carry in my pocket. I'm a casual user and my main use of ND filter is to just slow down the shutter speed when it's so bright outdoor that the color is on the border of washing out even at the highest shutter speed. I'm not aiming for perfect motion blur but do try to acoid the jerky high shutter look. If you really have to narrow it down to 2, I would take the 16 and 32 as they're the ones I use most often. I don't think you'll need the 64 unless you're in bright sunlight outdoor with a lot of reflections (snow).  
2019-2-5
Use props
Onsomehill
lvl.2
United States

Wiz33 Posted at 2-5 13:55
I just carry the Pgytech 4 ND PL set (8,16,32,64)/ The case is compact enough to carry in my pocket. I'm a casual user and my main use of ND filter is to just slow down the shutter speed

OK, so you go with the PLs. I thought about that, but didn't know if there was some limitation to having a PL vs non-PL. I was reading another topic, where they were discussing PL and video vs photos...

Thanks for your input!!!
2019-2-5
Use props
DJI Stephen
DJI team

Hello and good day Onsomehill. Thank you for the inqury. I hope you'll get the best recommendation here from our valued DJI Members and Customers with there experiences on what ND Filter they are using on this situations. Thank you for your support.
2019-2-5
Use props
Wiz33
lvl.4
  • >>>
United States

Onsomehill Posted at 2-5 13:58