Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
How to post-process and create cinematic drone film
12Next >
18332 69 2019-2-11
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Madebyvadim
Second Officer
Flight distance : 2023002 ft
  • >>>
Russia

I have been flying and creating cinematic aerial films for more than 5 years and I wanted to share some of my post-processing workflow with you in this article.

Ok, so, now you have been flying and shooting beautiful drone videos, you master the shooting techniques, know how to use ND filters for the 180º rule, done beautiful cinematic movement and finally collected hundreds of gigabytes of amazing drone shots and you are ready to share it with the world. Now what? How do I post-process it? What shall I do with all that footages? How can I create a worthy film that looks amazing?

Let’s explore the post-processing workflow that helps you to create a beautiful cinematic film

Software
02 Software.jpg
Choosing the right software to work with is essential. Over the years I been using Adobe Premier, Adobe After Effects, Adobe Audition, Magic Bullet Looks for creating my films, but recently I switched to Blackmagic Davinci Resolve 15 for almost every aspect of the post-processing. It's a free software what basically include editing tab, vfx (visual effects) tab, color correction, grading, and sound editing tool, and the best part it’s free. There are few other options on the market (such as Final Cut Pro, Pinnacle, Vegas Pro and others) but since it's free I used this one.

Think ahead when choosing the right software, about what are you going to do with your film. If you only need simple edit, slight grade and add some score and sfx then most of the software will be fine, but if you are looking for pro-level grading, vfx and some other improvements or fixes to your footage then more advanced software are needed.

Type/style of film
03.jpg