Focus Handwheel 2 Doesn't Give Me Full Focus Range
1566 5 2019-2-21
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
blickenstaff
lvl.1
United States

Video of my issue: https://www.dropbox.com/s/54tcj47twk64ckj/focus-handwheel2.mov?dl=0 – Watch as I crank the focus wheel from one end to the other, you'll see that the little focus bars (what you'd use to manually focus using the DJI Go app) only barely moves. So it's controlling the focus, but only within a small window.

I'm brand new to Osmo Pro, X5, and the Focus Handwheel 2. I got them connected to each other communicating properly. LED lights up, I can switch between Focus Mode and Aperture Mode. Everything seemed to be working as expected, but I noticed that I wasn't getting the full focus range when using the Handwheel. Please note that the mechanical limits (the screws you can use to set hard stops at either end) are wide open.

Using manual focus in the DJI Go app, I'm able to focus from infinity to really close up. But when I'm using the handwheel, I noticed that I wasn't able to focus out to infinity. I referred to the user manual and tried to update "Travel Range Settings" by pressing the LENS button and setting my upper and lower travel limits, but this didn't make any discernible difference. Next I tried to calibrate the lens by turning it ON and rotating the focus wheel back and forth 4 times within 5 seconds. This seemed to make the issue even worse. Now when I turn the focus wheel all the way from one end to the other, the focus reading on the CrystalSky barely moves at all. It seems like its an issue with the "Travel Range Settings" found in the manual, but no combination of pressing the LENS button and rotating the wheel has helped.