Please fix the annoying centering and deadband problems
3525 11 2019-2-24
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
_nzsjoel
lvl.1
New Zealand

I've been operating gimbals for almost 3 years now with most of my time spent on MoVI systems. I say this because I know how gimbals should work and it's easy to tell when they don't.
Since release the Ronin S has performed very poorly with centering and the deadband. In fact it's so poor that unless you use custom settings with no deadband and max sensitivity, the gimbal will never actually reach the center again without double-tapping the trigger.

Let me lay out the major issues I (and many others) have experienced as clearly as possible:

• The gimbal does not return to center. It stops at the edge of the deadband, yet continues to move at an incredibly slow rate as it approaches this point.
  • A tilted down pan to the left (CCW) causes big jerks between the tilt & pan motors. Since part of this motion is a way to put it in inverted mode (as the roll arm becomes horizontal) it has not been handled well
  • There are times where the gimbal reacts differently when rotating it CW or CCW - I think this may have been largely caused by the push pan mode however.

I made a YouTube video about this and there are about 30 people to date who have commented complaints about experiencing similar issues and are equally disappointed.

Since this is your first tilted arm design I can somewhat understand the failure to write a control algoirthm to manage it properly but I can't understand how such a critical part of the function of a gimbal was somehow overlooked. The whole purpose of a gimbal in it's normal state of us is to stablise AND to return to the centerpoint. I had someone try to argue that it's fine because of the deadband, but at what point does this error suddenly become unacceptable? 5 degrees? 20 degrees? 75 degrees? On most gimbals I have used the error is zero (unless deadband set otherwise).