'Z' Axis Bobbing videos are annoying ...
1221 8 2019-3-19
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
John Walker
Second Officer
United Kingdom

I'm surprised how many gimbal based walkabout videos are appearing with noticeable  'Z' axis bobbing.  I find it very unprofessional and uncomfortable to watch.  It's ok in short clips but on long walkabouts it can be rather annoying.

Many users seem happy to work with this limitation but will complain in depth about other more minor shortcomings (not just the OP).  Gimbals as they are do not combat the 'Z' axis bobbing without the user having to perform funny walks.  There are 'Z' axis accessories but they don't appear to be in use on the current plethora of walkabout videos.  I wonder if a gimbal will appear soon with a 4th motor in the body?

2019-3-19
Use props
marctronixx
lvl.4
Flight distance : 210118 ft
  • >>>
United States

I’m a Steadicam operator by profession (18 years and was taugh by Garrett Brown the inventor ) and i also CRINGE at this bobbing video. There is way, as you suggest, to walk and minimize it, but even that is a skill.

I had the osmo zenumse and had the z axis gadget dji sold.  It is a solid piece of kit ad works ALONG with taking into consideration how you must walk.

I know there is a company that is making one for the OP (other threads on this here) but they are just in the pre order phase. I dont like sending my hard earned money to sit in ones bank to collect interest whilst i wait on the product—i prefer to buy when the product is ready to be shipped.

Designing a fourth axis stabilization on these things has to be cost prohibitive and bulky I would imagine. Maybe an optical stabilizer on the sensors like Sony (and I’m sure others) cameras have (the a99 MKII that i use has really good OIS on its sensor) would help? I’m not an eingineer so i dont know the limitations, but this is a good discussion.
2019-3-19
Use props
Upscaleman
lvl.3
United States