Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Zap
lvl.2
Flight distance : 410942 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

Hi

Can anyone help.  Im new to x5s prores and I have a few issues.  Firstly in ProRes 4444 I cant seem to record in mp4, only .mov.  I can select MP4 but the filetype is always .mov when you open it.  Is this right?  can I only record in .mov? (See attached photo)
1.jpg

Secondly, I can't shoot ProRes 4444 in 3840x2160 at 50fps - only 24 and 23.976.  Again is this correct?  Seems very limiting.

Thirdly at 24fps the images seem very jumpy even with the slowest of movements and there is quite a bit of noise over the image especially in the shadows.  My computer has just been speced out for 6k filming and I'm shooting with shutter at twice framerate eg 3830x2160 at 24fps 1/50th shutter 15mm f1.7 DJI prime lens 480gb Cinessd.  is this right.

I have to say im incredibly underwelmed with the camera at the moment

2019-4-16
Use props
WayneMann
lvl.4
United States

Hi.  If I am recording in ProRes 4444 I could really care less about the .MOV or MP4 files as they suck in comparison to the ProRes files.   The .MOV an MP4 files are a Long GOP codec.  That means that the first frame of the video is a real "picture" and the 5th or 6th frame is a real picture.  The ones in between are a computer interpretation of what those frames should look like.  Long story short with a drone and all of it's movement in high detailed footage the image gets really muddy looking.  ProRes is an All Intra Codec meaning every frame is an individual picture so you never get a muddy looking image.   So if I am shooting something important I always shoot in ProRes.  To answer your question I have no idea if you can switch between .MOV and MP4 when recording ProRes 4444.

When shooting ProRes 4444 or 422 you only have the option of 24p, 23.976 or 29.97.