Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Debriefing of a crashed and stolen Mavic Pro
1739 17 2019-5-2
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
simonesimone
lvl.2
Flight distance : 86706 ft
Italy

Hi all, my name is Simone and I'm new on the forum!
After having thought this may never happen to me...it happened...I crashed my Mavic

I'm an aerospace engineer and a private pilot. I've always found airplane accident report really useful to understand and learn.
I'll try to do the same with myself, fortunately with much less consequence than other aeronautical accidents: ''just'' economic loss.

As you know, accident are often a chain of events:
1] Mistaken Home Point location
For the first time of my mavic life I decided to update the home point in flight (in know now it's not a good practice). It just seemed offsetted on the map and I decided to do so.
http://www.simonesimone.it/FDMavic.mp4
For a reason I ignore the home point was set well beyond me and my drone position.

Uploading the log I discovered it was set just on that blue dot. Does anyone can explain what does it represent?
I would have expected the home point to be set on the aircraft position which is exactly represented on the map. So the GPS signal was right a suppose.
bluedot.jpg

2] Loss of Remote Controller-Drone signal
During the manual landing the controller signal was lost. Actually on the screen nothing was strange, full signals strenght was present both for video and controls. However my Mavic stopped responding, and hovered for few seconds even if my left stick was full down.
Probably the cause was a Medium Voltage power line few meters behind me.

3] At this point the following RTH logic was triggered
...with the unlucky effect of climbing to 10 meters (this due to the logic itself, my RTH altitued was set to 100m infact) and with the course set to the wrong home point.