MAVIC PRO PLATINUM "FLYAWAY" : LOST
1344 14 2019-5-10
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
WillDuLuxx
lvl.1
Belgium

Hi all,
Is a 'flyaway' such a common failure from Mavic Pro?

Just back from holidays where the Mavic Pro Platinum just flew away, far away, not responding on the Roll and Pitch axis at all. I received the Drone on Friday 3 May (it was a full new one). I did 12 flights (totalling 2h05), before this 'flyaway' happens on the 13th flight.

Rather than talking too much, please if smbd can have a look at the flight records and tell me what was wrong with the Drone...

To mention I am an FPV Drone racer pilot, I have observed this behavior on one of my FPV Drone racer one day : the Drone drifted in 'horizontal 'mode (meaning assited flight for stabilizing the Drone, and stopped drifting once back to 'manual' mode, because one sensor was deffective on the flight board).

13th flight (FLYAWAY) : https://www.phantomhelp.com/LogViewer/6AQI33Y31LK71TIUNI7M/

Many thanks in advance for your help on this.
WillDuLuxx.

2019-5-10
Use props
msinger
Captain
Flight distance : 228255 ft
  • >>>
United States

Your Mavic did not fly away. Each time RTH was initiated, the Mavic was unable to make forward progress toward the home point since the wind was too strong. As you can see on this Airdata map, the wind was blowing away from the home point at around 40 MPH. There is no chance your Mavic would have been able to make it home.
2019-5-10
Use props
WillDuLuxx
lvl.1
Belgium

MSinger, thanks for your reply.

To precise this. The Mavic is able to 65km/h (40mph). The wind as per the chart is btw. 25 and 35 mph. Thus, at least it would have stabilized each time I have pushed the Roll forward, and expected to move forward 5mph (40 - 35) in the worst case. Even in Sport Mode, no such (expected) reaction occured.