Help Please..ND filters on Auto settings? Mavic Air
3179 2 2019-5-13
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
bennyblanka
lvl.1
Canada

Good afternoon

I am sorry of this has already been discussed somehwere on the forum, if so can someone send me the link to the thread.

I am new to this but want to start getting some good conematic video fotage with my Mavic air. I am going to Mexico on a flyfishing trip in a week and want to try and get some cool shots of our trip. I expect it will be mostly sunny and grabbed some ND filters, I got ND 8,16 and 32 as wel as 8 ND/PL, 16ND/PL and 32 ND/PL. Because I am shooting around water I would like to keep one of the polarized filters on at all times if possible.

I have decided to do the majority od my shooting in 24 FPS and I undertand that my goal is to acieve the 180 degree rule which would need a 50 shutter speed to achieve that nice motion blur and cinematic look. I understand that if I put my video camera into manual mode I can set the shutter speed to 50 and keep it there, but then I would need to use my ND filters to make sure I am not over exposing my shots and I dont want to screw up all my footage by having the wrong filter on. So i was wondering if I could keep the video settings on Auto 24FPS and just put the ND/PL filter on that best suits the lighting condition ( for exampple put the 16PL on if its sunny). Will the camera sensor adujct to my ND filter accordingly? or do i have to leave it on manual mode?

I read somewere that I can leave it on auto and adjust my EV value to keep it around -0.3 to -0.7 is there an easy way to adjust that on the fly ( litteraly while I am flying) I feel like putting it on manual mode and looking at histograms and adjusting everything is pretty intense for a newbie like me. I just want a good looking shot that has a polarized filter for the water glare while i am filming our fishing trip.