Hi Im with the FAA - Do you have an exemtion to fly over people with that thing?
2203 22 2015-6-8
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
DerbyCity BirdM
lvl.4

United States

This past weekend in my town, I launched my drone to capture the Hot Air Ballon Race that happend annually, 7 minutes into the filght I was approached by a FAA Operations Inspector whom flashed his FAA credentials while I was hovering at 206 feet AGL.
He asked me if I have an exemption to fly that thing over people? I told him no... He says, "Im gonna ask you to bring it down immediately".
I stated that I'm documenting the airshow and will be putting together a video of this and other local events. He says- "you're gonna have to land it now".

I complied and asked him at what altitude constitutes "Flying over people?".. he nicely told me to contact him this week and he would get me that info...

Im a pilot and I rent airplanes and fly out of that same airport and was really confused that he could/would not answer my question on the spot.
As of today, I'm contacting the FAA to get the exemption that he's referring to. I thought flying over people meant 10' -20' NOT 206' above them.
Confused as hell now!?

Ballons.jpg
2015-6-8
Use props
Raybro
lvl.4
Flight distance : 11099 ft
United States

Need an exemption, a certificate of airworthiness, and an N number for your Phantom
2015-6-8
Use props
HermosaDrones
lvl.4
Flight distance : 3160344 ft
  • >>>
United States

it is not wise to fly a phantom over people at any time.  sometimes it happens.  keep us posted.
2015-6-8
Use props
Faken
lvl.2

Canada

Our ministry or transportation guidelines for Drones in Canada is basically 250 meters away from buildings or people.  So in other words, if you were to draw a 250 meter circle with a person standing in the middle, the drone can not fly over that circle at any time at any height.  People do it, but they can certainly ground your flight or fine you for not obeying.