Mavic 2 Pro - Gradually Tilting Horizon - Bad Unit?
3856 17 2019-8-6
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
orbitrob
lvl.2
Canada

Hi there,

I'm frustrated by an issue I've I've been having with my Mavic 2 Pro - where the horizon is level at the start of the flight and then begins steadily tilting. You can see the tilt begin at 0:06. In the video you can see by the water that the conditions were calm, with very little wind.  I have not been able to fix this issue by either calibrating Gimbal (Gimbal Settings / Gimbal Auto Calibration) or by doing a calibration of the IMU.

I work as a commercial videographer selling 4K footage, and so cropping in and rendering at HD 1920x1080 is not an option. Even if i was to render out an HD 1920x1080 video, its very labour intensive working to adjust for a horizon that tilts over time.

I purchased the Mavic 2 Pro direct from DJI last year. I also purchased DJI Care that's good until August 29, 2019. I'm pretty sure this drone is no good as it can't be fixed by any kind of calibration procedure. Its also never been crashed.

I have commercial drone work scheduled for this September. What's the quickest way to get a replacement?

Thanks,
Rob

[size=0.875]

IMG_20180830_150901_342.jpg
2019-8-6
Use props
hallmark007
Captain
Flight distance : 9827923 ft
  • >>>
Ireland

M2P is not known for bad tilted horizon, so there should be no excuses made, quickest way I’m not sure what to tell you, but for me I would raise a case with dji support send your craft in under warranty, but also try contacting a moderator here show them your video and explain you have done all the calibrations, the should be able to relay your case to engineers and if it can’t be fixed 100% then they need to replace it.
I think this should take 10/14 days it will be just as quick as using care refresh, keep your care refresh as a last resort.
If you can contact dji Mindy she is pretty senior around here .
2019-8-6
Use props
A J
Captain