Power lines and church steeples
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Bluevista
lvl.2

United States

A friend has asked if I'd be able to help with a special project at his church.  They need some photos take all around the steeple to solicit quotes for some much needed repair work.  Part of the problem is that there are power lines right in front of the building.

Other than the obvious (don't bump into them), what kind of concerns / warnings would you all offer?  Will they cause communication problems with the aircraft (a Phantom 3 pro).  I'm new to this, and won't attempt until I'm confident in my flight skills.  

This link shows a Google Street View of the church, right in the middle of downtown Utica.

https://www.google.com/maps/@43.09899,-75.234208,3a,90y,204.36h,121.87t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1sgD9FnaaCgoqfdxaf7NLzjw!2e0

How many of you would try this?  
Thoughts?
Comments?
Any other concerns I should keep in mind?

----------------------------------------
Friends and projects come out of no where when people discover you have a drone.  :-)

The church

The church
2015-6-10
Use props
Gerry1124
Second Officer

United States

I've flown to within 50 feet of the high tension lines and a lot closer to the power lines on the telephone poles and no problems.  I wouldn't go flying under them,
power lines 1.jpg
power lines 2.jpg
power lines 3.jpg
power lines.jpg
2015-6-10
Use props
salota8550 This user has been deleted
Tip: the author has been banned or deleted automatically shield
2015-6-10
Use props
gregg1r
lvl.4

United States

I'd fly that, but it would be early on a Saturday morning. Take off from the grassy plot next to the church and judge how the wind is at altitude.

As far as the front of the steeple, doing a straight up slow climb from the side up to the the steeple spire. The front should be accessible above the power lines, just rotate around to the church front, then elevate to the top, one more rotation to the left side and one slow drop .