Flown Away - Compass Error / Yaw Error
906 8 2019-10-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Green Thunder
lvl.1
Flight distance : 63967 ft

Australia

Newbie here - I'm sorry if this is not posted in the right spot.

I was tremendously disappointed to have a fly away yesterday - my Spark is gone. I had had my Spark for 2 years and this is the first serious issue it has experienced.

As I do before every flight, I checked my drone before I left home and it needed a firmware update, so I did that. When I got to the site, I calibrated as I usually do and set off. I was flying in a park near my home, at an altitude of about 280m (@900 feet) and simply taking some photos of a sunset. I had line of sight, although the drone was very small directly above me and easy to lose sight of. Without notice, the DJI Go4 app told me I had a compass error and that the drone had entered ATTI mode so I immediately started to pull the drone down. Having to look down at my screen, I lost line of sight and suddenly I was in a heap of trouble - although I saw no reason the drone had simply disappeared as I hadn't touched the right hand joystick and was only pulling down on the left hand one to reduce altitude.

Nonetheless, the drone is gone so I contacted DJI to ask what could be done - if anything. The response I got was nothing short of pathetic and so very disappointing from a company I have supported so much over the years, I just don't think I would ever go near their products again. I own(ed) two Sparks, a supplementary remote, several additional flight batteries, a Mavic and goggles.