Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Mavic mini Fly away 29 November South Africa
12Next >
4535 46 2019-11-30
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
MegaTesla
lvl.2
Flight distance : 1224 ft
South Africa

Yesterday I experienced a fly away. A friend that is also an experienced pilot (rc and full size) witnessed the event with me. I have been flying radio controlled models and drones for many years. I have had a South African drone pilot license (RPL) for the past 3 years and occasionally fly commercial jobs for one of the licensed operators in South Africa.

The weather was calm. It was night time. The previous day I flew with the drone and it was absolutely fine.

I took off in my friend's garden where he has been flying his mavic mini the past two weeks. There is wifi interference, so range is limited to a few hundred meters according to him. We both have the CE version.

Basically I took off and the next moment the mavic mini just flew away. I thought it was drifting and gave additional throttle to give me some space to work with. It gained speed and I pulled back, but to no avail. And then it was gone. It all happened in a few seconds. The controller disconnected after it was about 100m away.

I have emailed DJI support and is now awaiting a response from them.

I attach the log file of the flight if someone clever wants to have a look at it. All I can see is what looks like incorrect orientation of the drone (blue arrow).

DJIFlightRecord_2019-11-29_[22-35-06].zip

28.04 KB, Down times: 49

2019-11-30
Use props
djiuser_SFmb5tb7bQWj
lvl.2

Germany

Did you take off with enough satelites?
Have you flown other dji drones in the Past?
When was your Last compass calibration if you did one?
2019-11-30
Use props
WooZie
lvl.3
Flight distance : 4485558 ft
Romania

the log shows that you had no blame in this situation, will see what dji says
2019-11-30
Use props
UweE
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1016775 ft
  • >>>
Germany