New Gimbal... Not sure I like it... Questions and issues.
718 6 2019-12-5
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Guybrush Threepwood
lvl.1
Canada

Hello,

I am not a professional filmmaker by any stretch so perhaps my critisisms of this devices are unfounded. I've had the Osmo Mobile 3 for a few days now and I am finding some basic features lacking while becoming increasingly annoyed by others. Below are a list of issues / complaints / questions that I have so far. Any feedback would be appreciated.

1. Assisted Pan

Perhaps I'm not finding it, but does this gimbal do assisted pans? I was hoping to be able to shoot panning plate shots (shots without any subject) so I could later add in the subject for special effects. It seems this can be done if shooting timelapse, but I can't seem to find it for video. In my opinion this should be a basic no-brainer function of this product. A nice, controlled, repeatable pan is a neccesary function for almost all filmmakers.

2. Cords & Accessories *BUMP*

I have a Rode mic attached to my Osmo, but it seems impossible to use. The cord always bumps the arm or gets tangled throwing the Osmo into chaos. I also tried charging my phone while recording and it was a nightmare. The cord end would constantly come in contact with the arms ruining my shot. What am I doing wrong?

3. Portrait mode is not how I want to start

I'm not into vlogging what I am eating for dinner so when I film something it is 99.9% landscape. The issue is that whenever I power up the Osmo, it defaults into portrait mode for some reason. Then, I have to take that extra second to flip the image. I intend on shooting a lot of sports, so being able to start up the gimbal and record quickly is key. Those 4 - 5 seconds to flip the phone could be the difference between getting the shot and not.

4. Why not go into standby?