N3 Flight Controller Magnetic Interference Problem
3265 2 2019-12-11
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Lureking
lvl.1

United States

Hello,

I am an engineering science graduate student working on a project I started as an undergrad my senior year. Basically, I build a 3X3 foot drone that weighs 38 pounds. See Figure 1.
assemledsmallfielsize.jpeg

Fig. 1. 90% assembled drone. Electronics fully assembled.

I am using a 14.8V battery, 5cm motors, 60A ESCs, etc. I have been getting magnetic interference during setup. See Figure 2.

compas mfi.png

Fig. 2. Note also that the GPS is labeled as A3. This photo is prior to sending it to DJI for repair.

I sent out the N3 to DJI for repair, and apparently they fixed it because they sent it back. I doubt it was even broken in the first place, because when I loaded it up in DJI Assistant V2, it gives me the same error as in Figure 2 as well as the N3 GPS instead being noted as "A3", so I'm guessing DJI technicians used an A3 to test/fix it; but that's a-whole-nother issue by itself.

I bought some Faraday Fabric from Amazon and I have shielded the flight controller and GPS from the battery. See Figure 3, through 6.

Faraday fabric (1).jpeg

Fig. 3. Faraday Fabric from Amazon.

Faraday fabric under gps (1).jpeg

Fig. 4. Three layers of fabric shielding the bottom of the GPS.

Faraday fabric on top of battery (1).jpeg

Fig. 5. 3+ layers layering the power distribution board (pdb).

Faraday fabric under flight controller and on top of battery (1).jpeg

Fig. 6. More fabric layering the battery itself.