House in no fly zone, no inside flying?
953 9 2019-12-13
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
djiuser_hbl1pCNHVqXI
lvl.1

Canada

Hey y'all.  I'm a future drone pilot waiting on the sidelines while my Mavic Mini is on it's way.  So I'm reading all I need to know to fly this thing legaly and safely and I stumbled upon a Reddit thread that worried me.  I live in Montréal (Canada) inside YUL's "no fly zone".  I have no intention of flying it outside my house or in any restricted areas for that matter, but is it true that the aircraft won't even power up inside my house because I'm in that zone?  Is it true that the DJI app has a built-in feature that would prevent me from doing so?

As a reference, here's Transport Canada's drone site flight map: https://cnrc.canada.ca/en/drone-tool/

Thanks!

Y

2019-12-13
Use props
bjr981s
Second Officer
Flight distance : 139698 ft
  • >>>
Australia

Inside you will have no GPS so it won't know its inside a no fly zone, so you will be fine to fly.
2019-12-13
Use props
GaryArt1
lvl.2
United States

bjr981s Posted at 12-13 20:36
Inside you will have no GPS so it won't know its inside a no fly zone, so you will be fine to fly.

Not true.  Mine picks up GPS fine indoors and will not allow me to take off being I am in a authorization zone.
2019-12-13
Use props
djiuser_hbl1pCNHVqXI
lvl.1

Canada

GaryArt1 Posted at 12-13 21:52
Not true.  Mine picks up GPS fine indoors and will not allow me to take off being I am in a authorization zone.

Argl!  If the GPS connect inside my house that's a bummer, that would ruin my plan for training before I do outside...  and it also means I'll always have to drive away from home to fly period. Let's hope the signal is too weak.  That or I'll wrap my house in aluminium!

Anyone else has an experience to share?

Is there a way to disable something on the drone or in the app if the GPS signal works inside?
2019-12-14
Use props
GaryArt1
lvl.2
United States

djiuser_hbl1pCNHVqXI Posted at 12-14 12:27