Exporting 2.7k in iMovie?
9965 8 2019-12-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
CarRamRod
lvl.2
Flight distance : 81742 ft
United States

So, I'm asking this here because of the 2.7k camera on the Mini. Sorry if this is posted somewhere else, but I'm having trouble finding recent info on this. I'm also a beginner, sorry.

When exporting in iMovie (sharing to file) my only option is 1080p. I've read that this is a known...... thing. People have said to insert a 4k file into the project (or something like that) and then it will let you export in 4k. My problem is I don't have a 4k camera and this seems like an annoying thing to have to do. I've tried using Quicktime to convert the unedited Mini files to 4k first, but it holds onto it's 2.7k resolution. Am I missing something or has anyone found a way around this? Has anyone found another (free preferably) video editor for Mac that can do this without all the fuss? Thanks!

2019-12-15
Use props
swiftwindwalker
lvl.3
Flight distance : 177697 ft
United Kingdom

Answer from the Apple support

I am afraid it's a little more complicated with iMovie.

iMovie does recognize and exports 2.7K video, just not when it's in a project on a timeline. If you select an imported 2.7K clip, it will export as 2.7K (it says 4K but shows the correct 2.7K resolution).

It goes wrong when you add the 2.7K clip to a project/timeline.

You can even use a workaround by placing a 4K clip (just a second is enough) as the first clip in a project, iMovie recognizes 4K and the project becomes a 4K project, if you then add all your 2.7K clips, edit the project and remove the 4K clip, it will still show as a 4K project and you will be able to export your 2.7K footage as a 4K movie.  

Apple Support Link

You can download a sample 4K video from the web, you don't need to have a camera that records 4k. Search on google.
2019-12-15
Use props
DAFlys
Captain
Flight distance : 312090263 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom