Improvements I'd like to see in the DJI FPV system
2327 5 2020-1-9
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
mc54
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1030 ft

United States

I have been flying the DJI fpv system for almost two months now.  I have been keeping a list of issues and have been editing them as i resolve them.  This list used to be longer, but I've figured work-arounds for many of them.  These are the remaining DJI FPV enhancements I feel are still needed:

OSD ENHANCEMENTS: Add the home arrow, distance to home, altitude, throttle %, mph, warnings, and give us a LARGER text font option. Put mbps and latency milliseconds in the OSD so they can be moved to a more prominent place on the screen. Give us the BetaFlight end of flight summary screen upon disarming showing the stats for the flight.

Fix "public channel" warning bug

RECORDING: create an option to record the OSD on video  (necessary for GPS coordinates in event of crash recovery).  This is crucial.

The MMCX Antennas coming loose is a big problem. There is a lip on the edge of the air unit case that can prevent the antenna from seating properly.

PIXELIZATION BREAKUP: It seems that when in focus mode, there is ALWAYS some pixelation on the side of the picture, even at  short range, high Mbps and with low latency readings.  This performance really should improve somehow (without hurting latency).

SBUS Fast protocol was hyped as being as low as 7ms.  Despite using it, I have never seen anything below 24 or so.

It would be nice to have a CHEAP hand held receiver with a 4 inch screen that you could give to bystanders to they could watch.

Hopefully the next firmware update addresses many of these, especially the OSD issues.

2020-1-9
Use props
DJI Stephen
DJI team

Hello and good day mc54. Thank you for sharing these information and your insights with regards to this matter. I will forward this information to the designated DJI department for further attention. Thank you for your valued support.