Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Remote ID comments
691 2 2020-2-25
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
glaive010-sp
lvl.2
Flight distance : 479698 ft
United States

I use drones for recreational purposes as well as educational purposes. Multiple times for college I have had projects regarding drone photography. Mainly I use drones for photography/videography and flying them just because they are fun. As a pilot I understand why the FAA and US government wants to put this into place. As a drone pilot I would like to be able to see the location of other drones just as in an airplane I can look at my MFD or PFD and see the location altitude and direction of another aircraft.

My main use is recreational and my main problem with this legislation will be the recurring monthly fees for drone users. Good drones are not cheap and as a rec user I am not receiving any money for flying. The financial cost for flying a drone will just keep getting deeper and deeper without gaining anything out of it. I believe this will push many enthusiasts out of the drone space due to costs or will cause people to fly illegally.

Another problem is that the private companies will be storing my data and charging me. I do not know what these companies plan to do with my data and I do not trust my data with companies that could sell my data to others for financial or other reasons.

There are thousands of drones that are not internet capable or cellular capable. This would ground them eliminating many users. Companies built off of drone kits would cease to exist or will be forced to comply with the regulations. People with lacking cell service in certain areas will be forced to give up their hobby or source of income or forced to use more expensive data plans which they may not be able to afford. If the goal is to hurt the market that’s what this will achieve.